The outstanding quality of the 2022 vintage was underlined by the current-vintage Riesling class at today’s 2022 Clare Valley Wine Show.

Of the 80 wines entered in this section for the Clare Valley’s signature variety, 85 percent received medals, with twelve gold medals in the class.

The Mick Knappstein Trophy for the Best Current Vintage Riesling was won by…. Penna Lane Wines 2022 Watervale Riesling

The Judging Panel’s Chair, Steven Pannell, said that, overall, a very impressive group of wines was presented at this year’s show.

“The 2022 Rieslings were particularly strong,” he said.

“The stylish nature of these wines and the purity of their varietal character show the strength of the beautiful Clare Valley as a Riesling stronghold.

“It was also our great fortune to have one of the world’s foremost Riesling authorities, Stuart Pigott, judging this year’s show with 2022 being one of the best riesling vintages in twenty years.

“He imparted his wealth of knowledge to this year’s judges and the results” he said “The Chairmans Trophy winner is evidence of that, along with showcasing the breadth of style that is possible from the Clare Valley.”

“Cabernet was also outstanding at this year’s show.”

Chairman of the Clare Valley Wine and Grape Association, Hon Martin Ferguson AM, said the show’s results reinforced the Clare Valley’s reputation as a premium wine-producing region.

“This year has once again highlighted Clare’s amazing ability to produce world-class wines across the varietal spectrum,” he said.

This year’s show attracted 43 exhibitors, with submissions of 469 entries across 23 classes. A total of 302 medals were awarded, including 52 Gold.

Trophy winners, announced at the Endeavour Group Clare Valley Wine Show luncheon in Clare, were:

Best Sweet Wine of Show
Presented by Seed Clare Valley
Pikes Wines 2021 First Cut Riesling

Best Rose of Show
Presented by Jim Barry Boutique Accommodation
Paulett Wines 2022 Sangiovese Rose

Best Dry White other than Riesling
Presented by Hood Sweeney
Pikes Wines 2022 Luccio Fiano

Best Exhibition Section Dry Riesling, 2021 Vintage
Presented by Vinpac
Jim Barry Wines 2021 Block 114 Riesling

Best Exhibition Section Dry Riesling, 2020 Vintage and older
Presented by Commonwealth Bank
Clos Clare 2012 Riesling

Best Vintage Section Shiraz
Presented by BHF Technologies
Jim Barry Wines 2021 Lodge Hill Shiraz

Best Vintage Section Cabernet Sauvignon
Presented by Tonnellerie de Mercurey
Jim Barry Wines 2021 The Farm Cabernet Sauvignon

Best Vintage Section Other Dry Red
Presented by Hahn Corporation

Jim Barry Wines 2021 Expressions Malbec

Best Dry Red from Exhibition Sections
Presented by Classic Oak Products
Reillys Wines 2018 Dry Land Cabernet Sauvignon

Best Fortified Wine of Show
Presented by Plains Producer
Crabtree Wines NV Grand Muscat

Chair of Judges Award
Presented by the Watervale Hotel
Mitchell Wines Watervale Riesling - 2002, 2015, 2022

Mick Knappstein Trophy – Best Current Vintage Riesling
Presented by VAF Memstar
Penna Lane Wines 2022 Watervale Riesling

Carl Sobels Trophy Best Vintage Section Dry Red
Presented by Seguin Moreau
Jim Barry Wines 2021 The Farm Cabernet Sauvignon

Best Riesling of Show
Presented by Orora Beverages
Penna Lane Wines 2022 Watervale Riesling

Best Small Producer
Presented by Lallemand

clos Clare Wines

Best Single Vineyard Wine
Presented by Clare Valley Enterprises
Penna Lane Wines 2022 Watervale Riesling

Viticulturalist Trophy
Presented by Ackland Vineyard Services
Anthony Koerner

Best Exhibitor of Show
Presented by AP Coopers

Jim Barry Wines

Br John May Trophy Wine of Provenance
Presented by CCL Label
Leo Buring Leonay Riesling - 2002, 2017, 2022

Jim Barry Trophy - Best Wine of Show
Presented by Endeavour Group

Penna Lane Wines 2022 Watervale Riesling

Judges for this year’s show were:

Chair of Judges: Stephen Pannell | Chief Winemaker | SC Pannell

International Judge: Stuart Pigott | International Wine Critic & Senior Editor | James Suckling

Panel Chair - Erin Larkin | Wine Reviewer for Australia | Wine Advocate

Panel Chair - Andrew Quin | Chief Winemaker | Hentley Farm Wines and Quin Wines

Kelly Wellington | Winemaker | Wirra Wirra Wines

Michael Downer | Winemaker | Murdoch Hill

Steve Baraglia | Chief Winemaker | Pikes Wines

Associate Judges:
Mick Sandercock | Wine Supply Strategist | Pernod Ricard
Jacinta Jenkins | Winemaker | Balnaves of Coonawarra
Jarrad Steele | Winemaker | Paulett Wines
Alexandra Wardlaw | Winemaker | Kirrihill Wines
Gonzalo Sanchez | Winemaker | Lloyd Brothers
Janelle Zerk | Winemaker | Z Wine

Further information:

Belinda Heinrich

Clare Valley Grape & Wine Association

0427 481 616